For membership, a contractor must possess a valid electrical contractors license, a business license and meet current credit requirements. Upon submission of the application and the 1st quarter of dues, these three reports will be obtained from state and credit sources. Dues are paid quarterly and are continuous until the contractor notifies IEC of their desire to terminate membership. There is no long-term commitment, just a quarterly payment that is due at the beginning of each quarter. Dues include both Georgia Chapter and National.

The Georgia territory covers the entire state of Georgia except for electrical contractors whose main office is located inside of the Atlanta metro area counties that include Barrow, Butts, Carroll, Cherokee, Cobb, Clayton, Dekalb, Douglas, Fayette, Forsyth, Fulton, Gwinnett, Henry, Newton, Paulding, Rockdale, Spaulding & Walton. The service territory also includes the Tennessee counties of Bradley, Hamilton, Marion, Polk and Squatchie (Chattanooga area). Out of state electrical contractors may also join the Georgia Chapter if they meet the membership requirements.

Oversight of all services are administrated out of the Atlanta office.